The Somerset West Hockey Club has enjoyed success and produced quality players since 1975,

The Somerset West Hockey Club is a family club that has enjoyed success and produced quality players since 1975, from junior to senior, social to national level. In 2021 we had around 300 members across 16 teams, making us one of the biggest hockey clubs in the province.

Our main mission is to administer, develop, co-ordinate and promote hockey on a non-professional basis, no matter race, colour or culture, and provide opportunities for players to improve their performance levels, while promoting sportsmanship on and off the field.

Provide opportunities for players to improve their performance levels.

  • Weekly training sessions.

  • Exposure to Club level hockey matches.

  • Exposure to Western Province Team Trials.

Our members comprise mostly from the Helderberg area but also consist of members living in Stellenbosch, the Overberg and as far as Paarl. 

Family Orientated

The club welcomes families; family involvement is important to the club.


Fostering Good Values

Winning is not everything. The club prides itself on its good behavior, sportsmanship, self-discipline and courtesy toward opponents, officials and visitors.


Very Competitive

Winning is important. Players always give full effort and play up to the final whistle, regardless of the score.


Team Loyalty

Players are always enthusiastic, positive, and support and encourage each other. Team loyalty is considered very important.



We promote sportsmanship, on and off the field.



In 1974, Jerry Garret had the vision to establish a new hockey club in the Helderberg basin. Together with Mervyn Traut, Terence (Terry) McIntyre and Albert Dunford a nucleus of 20 ‘bodies’ was formed. ‘Bodies’ indeed, as many had not actually played hockey before. The first committee was elected: Mervyn Traut (Chairman); Jerry Garrett (Secretary); Mick Bourquin (Treasurer); Johan Strydom (Club Captain); Terry McIntyre (First Team Captain) and Dennis Johnson.

The statue ‘Physical Energy’ by George Frederic Watts was chosen as the club logo as it was thought at the time to be the symbol of Cape Town, and also depicted the physical energy that the committee thought should be displayed by the club at all times.

The home base was in Strand (Strand Ladies Hockey Club home ground) from 1975-1978 where there was no clubhouse or ablution facilities. A local Strand hotel (the Da Gama) accommodated the players. SWHC is indebted to the Strand Club for giving it the start it needed.

The first friendlies were played in 1974 with great success. In 1975 the SWHC’s one and only team was admitted to the 4th league – in essence the 9th league due to the structure. The first team to play in the 4th league was Terry McIntyre (captain), Jerry Garrett, Morris Mehenick, Johan Strydom, Neels Van Niekerk, Morgan O’Kennedy, Rod Garrett, Ian Woodall, Peter McIntyre, Mervyn Traut and Conrad Meyer. The team’s first three outings saw them gain resounding success. In the first game they beat Durbanville 10-0; the second game they won 8-0 against Camps Bay; and in their third game they beat Fish Hoek 8-0. The team walked the league with 78 goals for and 13 against them. Neels Van Niekerk was the first nomination and recipient of the Player of the Year award.

In 1976, a second men’s team was entered into the 4th league; the first SWHC ladies took to the field in 1988.